More Concerned About Money than School Rank?

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
El Principe

More Concerned About Money than School Rank?

Postby El Principe » Sun Apr 07, 2013 2:23 am

I've asked for advice here before as well as lurked in threads with people with similar GPA's (3.6-3.7) as mine + a good LSAT, and I commonly see people recommend blanketing T14 and even send apps to HYS. Of course, this range is hypothetical because I haven't taken the LSAT's yet, and this all requires that I don't bomb the LSAT (not really worried about that anyways; great at tests & I'm studying like hell for it) but my primary concern is scholarship money and financial aid; not so much T14 prestige.

I grew up in Texas, and I have no intention of practicing anywhere else, and the Big 3 in Texas (UT, SMU, & UH) are more than adept at placing graduates in jobs, provided they perform well in their class. I'm hoping that with a lower rank, I'd possibly have more leverage for a larger scholarship award seeing as inadequate financial aid would just give me every reason to go to a higher ranked school.

My question is, is this a naive opinion to have? Do URM's who barely skin they way into T14 have to cover a significant portion of their costs of education, or would I be looking at similar awards? The way I see it, I'd jump at a full scholarship at Houston as opposed to half tuition at a school ranked much higher. I already have UG debt, so I'd rather not be in a hole when I get out.

Of course, I'm not going to bank on this and I'll apply at several T14 schools, but if I have the URM admissions and awards figured out somewhat accurately, I'll take whoever gives the most money in Tier 1.

dawyzest1

Re: More Concerned About Money than School Rank?

Postby dawyzest1 » Sun Apr 07, 2013 7:34 am