Grad School as a URM?

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
janedope

Grad School as a URM?

Postby janedope » Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:52 pm

Hey everyone, forgive me if I am being redundant.

I will be getting my MS this fall -- and just returned from living in Paris for a while. My undergraduate GPA was less than desirable -- I graduated cum laude. I basically BSed my 4 years of undergrad and come out with nominal grades and two degrees.

Realistically, how does have a M.S. help me, if at all?

Thanks in advance!

El Principe

Re: Grad School as a URM?

Postby El Principe » Sun Apr 07, 2013 1:56 am

I know someone who's in a similar situation, but they graduated early and are under a football scholarship and did it for the hell of it.

I know a a lot of practicing lawyers, and they've all told me that it's pretty much irrelevant. Unless that graduate degree was related to some professional work that you've done (i.e. accounting and MPA, finance and MBA) and you want to pursue a degree in that area, and as a result, you want to practice law in a related field, then there isn't much utility in it.

Employers are almost exclusively concerned with things related to law school (save for professional work experience), so your best bet is to focus for that.

Personally, I think my friend's doing it because he missed this year applications and didn't have time to study for LSATs.

If I were you, I'd worry about getting the best LSAT score you can get because with a good GPA and LSAT as a URM, you're in line for good $$$.

janedope

Postby janedope » Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:05 am

El Principe wrote:I know someone who's in a similar situation, but they graduated early and are under a football scholarship and did it for the hell of it.