AA Male Student athlete needs advice Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
mt2165

Silver

AA Male Student athlete needs advice

Post by mt2165 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 5:51 pm

Hey, so I am a sophomore at Binghamton university. I was originally going to attend Swarthmore college but on account of financial difficulties, was unable to attend. Anyways, I am a student athlete at Binghamton (which is D1) who genuinely does not have much time for much else. I am a philosophy/law major with a minor in sociology. Right now I have a 3.6 but plan on getting that closer to the 3.7 range when it's all said and done. I'm really worried about two things as I look towards law school, first financing, two my soft. Regarding the first, I have definite interest in public interest law, especially policy advocacy. I am really not all that interested in private practice. This means I will need a program with substantial loan assistance or generous aid/grants. On the second note, being a student athlete, I commit basically commit 20 hours a week to track and field, especially in season. I have accolades from that (all-academic, conference scorer, etc) but I worry that this will detract from other things, such as my lack of other extracurricular activities. Right now I am in two research projects within the philosophy and political science departments here. If I am prep testing around the high 160's (166-170) in the lsat, what do you guys thinks are my chances at a top 14 school, which ones, and how much aid