GPA Crisis! Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
yoruba1

New

GPA Crisis!

Post by yoruba1 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:15 pm

To give some background, I am a URM (black male) attending one of the prestigious three "Little Ivies." I am a sophomore entering my second semester. I started at this school in the fall of 2011 and attended another university prior to this. My GPA through 3 semesters at this school is 3.414. My cumulative undergraduate GPA, however (which is what the LSAC would look at) is 3.501. I'm the apprehensive sort, and I had been too afraid to ever check my GPA prior to this. I guess I had good reason to fear. Needless to say, I was stunned upon finding that it was this low. I had expected that the GPA at my current institution would be somewhere in the 3.6 range---a figure that wouldn't make me ecstatic, but would leave significant optimism alive. I'm shell-shocked---stunned that I have this mediocre of a GPA. It seems that it's going to take a lot of work to get it up to where it will be competitive for T-14 schools.

LSAT is another issue, of course. I have two of the PowerScore books, Logical Reasoning and Logic Games. I aced the Logical Reasoning section (going through it in late 2010), but the Logic Games book has been quite challenging and I'll probably need a course to really determine my capability in this area. I've slept on the Critical Reading, mostly because I assume it will come easiest, but at some point I'll need to confront this as well to make sure.