Should I apply this cycle?

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
AintNoTimeForThat

Should I apply this cycle?

Postby AintNoTimeForThat » Tue Dec 25, 2012 2:28 am

Hello all,

Longtime lurker, but this is my second post (I also posted this in the Law School FAQ forum, but I don't know how many TLS users read both). I wanted to ask some advice about applying this cycle or next. I have a 3.5X GPA from HYP and a 169 LSAT score. I took the LSAT more than once with a large score jump. I majored in the humanities. I am AA. I've been out of college for 2-3 years now. I have some experience working as a legal assistant at a large law firm and as an organizer during the last presidential campaign. I also have some international internship experience related to my interests in human rights/ public policy.

I was thinking about applying this cycle, but I haven't determined whether it's a good idea. I'd love to attend HLS or SLS, but as I understand it, that's a crapshoot with my numbers and URM status. I'd love to take the LSAT again and get in the 170s to make H or S more likely, but I obviously wouldn't have time to attempt that if I applied this year. I guess I could apply with what I've got and take the February LSAT to cover my bases, but I'm wondering whether that'll put me at a serious disadvantage. I have a couple of good friends who applied last cycle and didn't get their acceptances until April, so I can't imagine getting a score back in March would be that detrimental... I also know that there is supposed to be a huge drop in LSAT takers/ applicants, so it might be good to take advantage of that by applying this year.

What do you guys think?! Would appreciate any advice/ suggestions.

soj

Re: Should I apply this cycle?

Postby soj » Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:34 am