AA Male in need of LS/Grad S advice Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
mt2165

Silver

AA Male in need of LS/Grad S advice

Post by mt2165 » Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:44 pm

Hey guys. So I'm in a conundrum, somewhat. I am an AA student studying at Binghamton University. I am a sophomore who plans to graduate a year early (credit wise, I am a junior). I have a 3.6 GPA in philosophy. I am a division 1 athlete, I run track and field here. Not to boast or gloat, but I was traditionally going to attend Swarthmore College but personal finances would now allow. In addition to relative academic success, I have written awarded papers in political phislophy, some of which have been published. Anyways my questions concern the practicality (if any) of my application to a graduate philosophy program in hopes of professional academic philosophy? Is there a reasonable cost effective market for such a risk? I am also considering applying to law school. With my GPA (and my practice LSAT scores in the 167-170 range) what do you think are my chances at a top law school? Also note that if I go to law school I have a serious interest in public interest/social justice as well legal academia (which I have heard is a immensely competitive and narrow market).

wbrother

Bronze

Re: AA Male in need of LS/Grad S advice

Post by wbrother » Mon Dec 17, 2012 1:45 pm