Applying for fall 2013. What are my Chances? Please Help!!

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
mbarrita

Applying for fall 2013. What are my Chances? Please Help!!

Postby mbarrita » Tue Sep 25, 2012 1:53 am

I am a 1.5 generation Mexican-American male. I graduated from UCLA with a 3.5 with double majors and a minor. I'm providing an addendum for the low GPA; my father died and as a result I became head of house. Consequently, I sustained my family throughout most of my undergrad. However, 6 of my 9 quarters attended at UCLA I earned a 3.67 - 3.84?

I am a community college transfer student who has strong extracurricular activities: student body vice and president of my college with major things accomplished, such as a $2.3 million student success program established with the school and other things.

I'm applying to UCLA under the ED program and also to the Critical Race Studies Program. I'm also writing a socioeconomic addendum as I've had to sustain my family throughout my undergrad, and I am Oaxacan-Mexican, a minority within a minority.

My questions are:

1. How much will my addendum mitigate my GPA in comparison to my 6/9 quarters of GPAs from a 3.67 to a 3.84.
2. Will a 160 get me in, and if not, what score will?
3. Under the programs I'm applying under, can I retake the LSAT in December and still be considered for ED or CRS?

jjrialva

Re: Applying for fall 2013. What are my Chances? Please Help!!

Postby jjrialva » Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:03 am

We can't tell you for sure how much it will mitigate but from what I read it an addendum will help you if written the correct way. That includes writing like and opinion (you "believe" a situation affected you).

Check law schools by the numbers and law school predictor to have an idea of your chances at this or any school. 160 sounds a tad low I would 165+ would be more reasonable. Don't be complacent if you're attaining 160 in your prep test keep practicing.