(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
dingbat

Re: The Post that Should Not Be

Postby dingbat » Sun Jun 24, 2012 9:54 pm

Don't get too hung up on the T6.
A decent scholly at a lower ranked school can be a viable option

redsoxfan2495

Postby redsoxfan2495 » Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:02 pm

I think a lot of people on here would argue that T6 isn't that meaningful of a distinction. If you really think you want to go to law school I don't think it makes much sense to say "I only got into Penn, so forget it..."

shoeshine

Postby shoeshine » Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:05 pm

Wormfather wrote:I know that I shouldn't be writing this post (see subject) but I'm stressing out beyond all belief. I'm an 31 year old junior with a 3.9 GPA at a well respected liberal arts school. I worked as an audit analyst for the ten years between high school and college. When I was downsized in 2009, my wife decided to saddle up for seven years and put me through undergrad and law school (law is my dream and she thinks I'm really smart). Anyway, even though she'd be happy with me working for legal aid as long as I could put food on the table (yeah right, I know), the fact of the matter is, I owe her big time, she wants kids and the picket fence, so do I and I dont care how many hours I have to work to get it.

Here's the delima, I took the LSAT in June, my average on my PTs was 165 but with scores ranging between 159 and 168 (if I got the right games I killed it, if I had the wrong games or a RC about someone who changes literature forever I bombed). The point I'm meandering to is this, after reading these boards, I've come to realize that if I dont crack T6 (where I will crush anyone who stands in my way with my bare brain) that I wont be able to make the money needed to pay off student loans in a timely fashion and actually have a chance at a family, I just dont have 5 years to prove myself at a mid-level firm after law school.