Can this help me? Forum

Share experiences and seek insight regarding your experience as an underrepresented minority within the legal community.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
BallHog

New

Can this help me?

Post by BallHog » Thu May 31, 2012 5:03 am

I know I am not technically "URM," but my parents were born and raised in India. I was born and raised in England. I moved to the USA 7 years ago and am one year away from finishing my undergrad. I'm basically diversity in a nutshell. Can/will this help me?

BallHog

New

Re: Can this help me?

Post by BallHog » Thu May 31, 2012 5:49 am

also off topic, but my brother graduated from Duke a couple years ago (undergrad). Can this help me for law school?

thederangedwang

Silver

Post by thederangedwang » Thu May 31, 2012 6:31 am

1) It wont help you as in you wont get any sort of bump like URMs would. It could be a decent diversity topic but even a brilliant essay is still a small factor when weighed against lsat and gpa...and besides, just cause you are an Indian that has grown up in UK then USA is not a proper diversity topic if there is nothing else to back that up. Indeed, that actually really isnt that diverse considering the UK has historically been an immigrant state and Indian was its commonwealth, and the same deal with the US.

2) No. The only foreseeable way this could even remotely help you is if you end up really trying to get into Duke and so you write a Why Duke essay and you mention your brother. Only then could it possibly help you..and it will still only help you a little even then.

Nova

Platinum