GW or Howard Law for AA Woman interested in Big Law

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
flashforward2

GW or Howard Law for AA Woman interested in Big Law

Postby flashforward2 » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:16 pm

I have a few days to make a decision on whether to accept a small merit scholarship from GW, however I'm considering Howard Law as well (half scholarship). I know about the job opportunities for Howard, especially with Big Law firms, but I'm not so sure about the likelihood of securing a Big Law position from GW. Can someone give me feedback on these two schools?

Sidenote: I'm a nontraditional student with work experience and loans from undergrad/grad school.

Thanks!

johansantana21

Re: GW or Howard Law for AA Woman interested in Big Law

Postby johansantana21 » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:19 pm

Howard.

romothesavior

Postby romothesavior » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:27 pm

johansantana21 wrote:Howard.

I agree that Howard is the better option due to the price, but are the job prospects for individual students going to be better at Howard than GW? I admittedly don't know a ton about Howard, but the general consensus seems to be that firms will dig further into the class for an AA at a school like GW than for Howard. This could be mistaken though; maybe Howard places more students into public interest jobs than other students or something, and getting biglaw at median is a real possibility. I wouldn't know, and I'm no expert on the school.

What I do know is that I wouldn't go to GW at the price we're talking about here. Howard is the better choice.

flashforward2

Postby flashforward2 » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:49 pm

Thanks for the advice. GW is very expensive indeed. I have heard very little about job prospects at GW. I wish I could talk to students of color who have received firm offers at GW. I have only heard of students who are going into public interest/government.

flashforward2

Postby flashforward2 » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:53 pm