AA male 3.58 need advice

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
b33eazy

AA male 3.58 need advice

Postby b33eazy » Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:17 pm

Okay, I am an African American male senior, who's graduating this semester, and I would like to know if there is any advice that someone can give me.. I currently have a 3.58 and I am hoping to get another 4.0 this semester, so I can get a 3.64. So far, I am the secretary for a Caribbean Student Association and a member of various clubs including: Mock Trial team, African American Student Alliance, Political Science Club and International Student Association. I also am about to get registered as a mediator in the Supreme Court of GA, but I have no work experience. My personal statement is about how I overcame abuse and I am debating whether I want to make my diversity statement about my father being a drug dealer, talking about my siblings with disabilities or my Jamaican backgrounds. However, I would like to know what scores I would need to get into Columbia Law school? And I have been sort of contemplating Harvard, would that even be possible with my gpa? Anyway, I took my LSAT in Dec but canceled it, so I am planning on just doing group study with one person for ten months (light studying until May and then heavy studying after I graduate in May till October).. I would like to know if there are any tips that can be offered to me or things I can do?

clarion

Re: AA male 3.58 need advice

Postby clarion » Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:19 am

Well, I'm still waiting to get rejected notification from Columbia, but I think we kinda need to know where you "sit" LSAT score-wise. Cause obviously, with a 180 you could get in. Also, with a 170 you'd PROBABLY almost certainly get in (assuming your PS isn't full of run-ons and what not). A 160 not so much. So I mean, I assume if you sat for a test then you can at least give us the range you're working with? What you're hoping for? Etc?