LGBT experience at Uchicago Law School

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
expelliarmus

LGBT experience at Uchicago Law School

Postby expelliarmus » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:26 pm

This is my first time posting here:
I go to a school also in the Chicago area, and fell in love with Uchicago when I visited it on occasion. I would love to go to law school in Uchicago.
However, there are rumors saying that Uchicago is traditionally conservative, and I am a bit worried that as a lesbian, I might have problem fitting in.
I would love to know if anyone has been a LGBT at Uchicago Law, and would like to give me some heads-up :D

Thanks!

D-ROCCA

Re: LGBT experience at Uchicago Law School

Postby D-ROCCA » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:40 pm

Different kind of conservative. More like "I hate BIG GOV" as opposed to "I hate the gays."

kaiser

Postby kaiser » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:44 pm

When people talk about the school as being conservative, they aren't talking about socially conservative. I don't think you have anything to worry about. I have a gay friend who goes there and is totally fine.

expelliarmus

Postby expelliarmus » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:48 pm

kaiser wrote:When people talk about the school as being conservative, they aren't talking about socially conservative. I don't think you have anything to worry about. I have a gay friend who goes there and is totally fine.

Would does he say about the school culture? Does it have a relatively vibrant gay community? Or the LGBT groups is sort of "shoved into the corner"?

I am not thinking of people openly stating that they "hate" gays. Rather, I am asking if it is comfortable living and studying there.

MrPapagiorgio

Postby MrPapagiorgio » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:50 pm

kaiser wrote:When people talk about the school as being conservative, they aren't talking about socially conservative. I don't think you have anything to worry about. I have a gay friend who goes there and is totally fine.