AA Female 163/3.77. Please help!

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
hiphophead

AA Female 163/3.77. Please help!

Postby hiphophead » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:10 pm

This is my first post and I would appreciate any input you guys can provide! I'm a 2008 grad from a top 10 UG. By the time I apply, I will have about 2 years full-time work experience as a legal assistant. Before that, I worked in retail (had a really difficult time finding other employment for a while). Worked 60 hrs/week (both jobs) for a significant time period.

I'm currently studying to retake LSAT in December, but won't unless I'm able to practice at significantly higher than the 163. My LSAT is also from 2008 (I'm not sure if this matters). I will be applying for the Fall 2012 cycle.

What should I shoot for? I know my LSAT probably limits me at T14. Thanks!

law4vus

Re: AA Female 163/3.77. Please help!

Postby law4vus » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:21 pm

The AA boost generally works to boost an LSAT score and you already have a high GPA. Apply everywhere, you never know what could happen.

There have been URMs with your numbers that got into Columbia and got significant money from Duke. You may not be too competitive for HYS, but apply anyway. This person got WL at Yale and into Columbia.

http://lawschoolnumbers.com/subtle

Apply everywhere. You'll get into a great school. Good luck!

*edit* Also reread your post. Northwestern will most likely give you a significant chunk of change, if not a full ride, because of your WE. Don't let your LSAT limit you. As you stand, you have a great shot at a mid T14 school and if you can get into the high 160s on your retake, HYS are very much in play.

Postby 071816 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:24 pm

Enjoy T14

JamMasterJ

Postby JamMasterJ » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:28 pm

chimp wrote:Enjoy T146 or so

TaipeiMort

Postby TaipeiMort » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:41 pm