Undergraduate GPA not so impressive, Graduate GPA Excellent

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
kmh504

Undergraduate GPA not so impressive, Graduate GPA Excellent

Postby kmh504 » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:07 pm

I'm applying to law school this fall - I plan on applying to all of the Top 20 schools but am unsure how my varying scores will factor into my acceptance.

Facts:
AA Female, 23
Undergrad: Northwestern University, 3.3 BS.Ed (Social Policy/Legal Studies)
I got accepted to a teaching fellowship after graduation called New York city teaching fellows and they assign you a university to attend for your masters since they pay for it - I was assigned to Pace University which is definitely much lower in rank (and tier) than Northwestern but I have a 3.8 GPA (MS.Ed) and recently received endorsement from the provost for the Rhodes.

I took the LSAT while I had swine flu (thought I'd be fine lol) and scored 150 but my retake this year was 166.

I'm a teacher of students with severe cognitive disabilities (autism) thus, I feel I have a unique perspective to talk about in personal statements etc. and have an interest in education law. But with all these varying numbers...and a lot of the schools I want to get into are very much "numbers schools," how will they take this?

robotclubmember

Re: Undergraduate GPA not so impressive, Graduate GPA Excellent

Postby robotclubmember » Fri Jul 15, 2011 5:31 pm

your graduate gpa will not seriously be considered. it's not reported to usnwr so it doesn't matter. the idea that it matters is a myth. and its well known that master's programs rampantly inflate grades, so a ugrad 3.3 is a fairer indication of your academic ability than a 3.8.