How are minorities viewed when it comes to hiring?

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
Al Capwned

How are minorities viewed when it comes to hiring?

Postby Al Capwned » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:35 pm

I'm an african american law student at a Top 40 school. I received two of my three grades thus far and both have been B's. The median at my school I believe is a B+. I'm hoping that I receive a higher grade on my final exam.

Needless to say, I'm pretty disgusted with my grades so far. I put in the time. I followed many of the people's advice on this forum (Arrow, Megatron, etc) and my grades have not been what I expected. I feel liked I studied hard and smart throughout the entire semester. Outlined early, reviewed practice exams with a study group, etc.

Anyways, I guess I'm just looking for advice on how I should be feeling or expecting right now. Should I wait to be overly concerned until I get my final grade? Hope to do better next semester? If I can be at median after next semester is that an okay place to be for a minority? Does being a minority even matter? :oops:

Thanks for the advice.

dissonance1848

Re: How are minorities viewed when it comes to hiring?

Postby dissonance1848 » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:50 pm

Being URM in OCI is like URM for admissions: huge boost. If you look at the OCI thread results, you will see URMS below median doing better than non-URM 50-65% class rank. Be aggressive in looking for SA positions, but know you have a considerable cushion.

BruceWayne

Postby BruceWayne » Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:54 pm

dissonance1848 wrote:Being URM in OCI is like URM for admissions: huge boost. If you look at the OCI thread results, you will see URMS below median doing better than non-URM 50-65% class rank. Be aggressive in looking for SA positions, but know you have a considerable cushion.