URM Wondering What to DO

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
thouse

URM Wondering What to DO

Postby thouse » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:46 pm

I am an African American Female, non-traditional. I decided kind of late that I wanted to go to law school, so I am studying for the December test. My GPA right now is a 3.0, but I know once LSAC does its thing it will be lower. I posted this question in another area and the responces I got ranged from Rock the LSAT and the GPA will not be a problem because I an URM or stay in undergrad and take easy classes to boost GPA and then take lsat for 2011-2012 cycle. I would like to know what other URM's suggest I do?

mfeller2

Re: URM Wondering What to DO

Postby mfeller2 » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:52 pm

I think you'd be fine to take it in December. Depending on your work/class schedule, you should be able to take 1-2 tests per week for the next 3 months. And if you have all your other admissions materials ready to go once you recieve your score, you could submit most apps by mid January, which isn't early, but definitely not too late.

Also, take classes that are likely to help your GPA. Unless you are in a certain major that requires it, your undergrad classes don't count for a whole lot.

thouse

Postby thouse » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:54 pm

I am graduating in December from Undergrad, and I was wondering should I stay through the Spring semester and take the classes that I received a D in or a WF, I think that equates to 7 credits, will that boost my GPA?

vanwinkle

Postby vanwinkle » Fri Sep 24, 2010 3:55 pm

Rock the LSAT as much as possible, and maybe get a year or two of work experience. URM boosts are typically bigger for low-LSAT folks than low-GPA folks, and I've seen URMs with GPAs as low as yours struggle in the admissions cycle. That said, you can compensate by getting some work experience and a relatively high LSAT score to show you're more capable than your GPA indicates.