softs?

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
la2011

softs?

Postby la2011 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:41 pm

So I am a recent graduate with a 3.63 gpa, both first-generation American and first-generation college grad, low-socioeconomic status, AA female. I have yet to take the LSAT (planning a Dec test date as I have not even attempted a PT). And I have a major problem: I basically have no softs. In the past four years of college I worked full/part time, was in a (social) sorority, and dropped out of school mid-3rd year. However, I do have a severe upward gpa trend, and managed to complete 68 credit hours in a year.

My situation gets more complicated, as I virtually have no professors I am close enough with to request a LORs. I would like to apply for Fall 2011, but that would leave me with mediocre LORs. I am interested in schools in the Pacific Northwest, ideally U of Washington or Lewis and Clark. Are those schools achievable with my non-existent softs and (most likely generic) LORs?

sophia.olive

Re: softs?

Postby sophia.olive » Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:48 pm

la2011 wrote:So I am a recent graduate with a 3.63 gpa, both first-generation American and first-generation college grad, low-socioeconomic status, AA female. I have yet to take the LSAT (planning a Dec test date as I have not even attempted a PT). And I have a major problem: I basically have no softs. In the past four years of college I worked full/part time, was in a (social) sorority, and dropped out of school mid-3rd year. However, I do have a severe upward gpa trend, and managed to complete 68 credit hours in a year.

My situation gets more complicated, as I virtually have no professors I am close enough with to request a LORs. I would like to apply for Fall 2011, but that would leave me with mediocre LORs. I am interested in schools in the Pacific Northwest, ideally U of Washington or Lewis and Clark. Are those schools achievable with my non-existent softs and (most likely generic) LORs?