What is a diversity statement and would I be writing one?

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
Helicio

What is a diversity statement and would I be writing one?

Postby Helicio » Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:16 pm

Hi guys,

My parents are both from Lebanon. Race-wise, I don't really know what I am since my mom looks white and my dad could probably be considered Arab. I was wondering if that means I will be writing a "diversity statement." (do we have to write them or no? confused on that too)

I've seen people talking about this statement and was wondering what it was, so I thought I'd go ahead and ask. I searched but I couldn't fine anyone say what it was because, well, it seems like most people already know.

I'm an undergrad. sophomore, so I have a ways to go before Law School.

Thanks.

:)

Xnegd

Re: What is a diversity statement and would I be writing one?

Postby Xnegd » Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:36 pm

It's an optional essay some people include to some schools with their application as a way to stress their individual diversity in hopes of making themselves stand out as an applicant.

It's just another tool some people can use to make themselves presentable; however, if you write it and aren't really diverse or write well I image it can come across as disingenuous and bite you in the ass. It doesn't necessarily apply to race and can be about life style or circumstance. e.g. political, economic, etc.

Some schools are big on diversity (USC & Indiana) - so this is a way to give them what they want.

edit: For example, my friend was raised in Iran and had a great Diversity statement regarding how he got beat up at school every day for crying during the "Death to America" chants, and how he kept moving around and experiencing new things while trying to get away from being surrounded by hate. He got into Berkeley with a 3.2 & mid-16X. If you pull it off, it opens doors.

Eugenie Danglars

Postby Eugenie Danglars » Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:44 pm