3.2 GPA URM at top LAC

(BLS, URM status, non-traditional, GLBT)
FREEDOM99

3.2 GPA URM at top LAC

Postby FREEDOM99 » Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:25 pm

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting after lurking for a couple of months now. I am a black female at a top 3 liberal arts college in Massachusetts. My GPA is only a 3.2 in a humanities major. I took a practice LSAT and scored a 162. I plan to take the June LSAT and hopefully raise my score to at least 170. I'm in my junior year and I don't know if I should apply to law school in my senior year or if I should apply the year after that. If I apply after my senior I could have a GPA between 3.35-3.4. Would this make a difference? Would I have a shot at getting into Harvard if I waited a year after my senior year and applied with a 3.35+ GPA and 170+ LSAT? Or would it be more realistic for me to target schools like Columbia, NYU, U Chicago, and U Michigan in my senior year with a 3.2 GPA and hopefully a 170 LSAT?

jackassjim

Re: 3.2 GPA URM at top LAC

Postby jackassjim » Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:48 pm

Try lawschoolpredictor.com put in your numbers and tick the URM box.

My 2 cents: With 3.35 and 170, you have no shot at Harvard whatsoever unless you have AMAZING softs (and no, president of your judo club doesn't count). All the other schools you mention are also far from being sure things. If you can only score a 170, you should apply lower than Michigan. If you can score a bit higher, you should still apply lower than Michigan.

Your top-LAC pedigree will not help you much with such a low GPA.

Doritos

Postby Doritos » Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:15 pm