Hamilton at Columbia vs. Yale/Harvard Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Cartwright4

New

Hamilton at Columbia vs. Yale/Harvard

Post by Cartwright4 » Sat Jan 24, 2009 1:51 am

Hi guys,

I've been a long-time reader of these forums but have never actually posted here and figured now is as good a time as any to raise what seems like an annual lightning rod of a question. I received my acceptance to CLS today, along with a Hamilton (full-tuition scholarship and I hear some sort of faculty mentorship, though it said nothing about the latter in the letter). I got into Harvard around Thanksgiving and Yale before the New Year, and obviously today changes everything.

I realize that a large part of this decision depends on what I want to do. The problem is I'm not entirely sure. I have some experience at a BIGLAW firm and might want to do litigation for one of these firms after law school. On the other hand, both clerkships and academia sound interesting down the line.

Other considerations: I am from New York, my family lives in the suburbs there, and my long-time girlfriend will be living and working in the city. I have a lot of attachment to NYC, but also love Boston (not so much New Haven). Despite this, I know the doors Yale opens are pretty unrivaled. (I haven't gotten my financial aid amounts from Yale and Harvard yet, but I don't imagine they will be too generous considering the hits their endowments took and the fact that I have to report my parents' income, which falls squarely on the border of the full-tuition gray-zone).

I know there are plenty of threads out there on this (including an epic 55 page one on LSD). But I want to see what people out there think this year. Thank you in advance for your help!

PS:
1. I realize how lucky I am and how douchey this post might come off. This is a tough decision though, and the debate on here is always helpful.
2. Despite what it might seem, not a flame. I swear.