CPA seeking to change career path - suggestions?! Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
karnahomi

New

CPA seeking to change career path - suggestions?!

Post by karnahomi » Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:58 am

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for all the advice you can give me. I am a 29 year old CPA from Puerto Rico working in the private industry. I graduated college with a 3.57 and my LSAT is not the best (153). I really don't plan on taking it again, I'm at a point in my life where its now or never since I have been delaying this for some time now. I studied accounting and went on to get my CPA license but I have always wanted to study environmental law. Also maybe leaning towards international environmental law.

Here in Puerto Rico we have three law schools that are way cheaper than in the states but do not have the same reputation. After my JD I would like to get my LLM in the states so I can either move now or do it in 3-4 years. Someone had told me maybe being URM (woman, latino) might help my chances of getting offers and maybe scholarships. I do not want to end up with a gigantic debt since this is a change in career path I'm doing. I'm not looking to do big law for now to be honest. I just want to pursue my passion wherever I can, I don't see myself working in accounting my whole life. :?

I'm currently applying to various law schools in the states mostly in Texas, Florida, North Carolina and South Carolina. Some of the universities I have looked at are:

SMU Dedman - TX - applied already
Houston Law Center - TX - applied already
University of Texas School of Law - TX
Texas Tech - TX
South Texas College of Law Houston - TX
Wake Forest - NC
University of North Carolina - NC
Elon University - NC
Charleston School of Law - SC
University of South Carolina - SC
Stetson University- FL
Interamerican University - PR
University of Puerto Rico School of Law - PR
Pontificia Universidad Catolica - PR

Any help, any suggestions, anything will help. :D

Thanks!