California low tier schools Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
TGBU

New

California low tier schools

Post by TGBU » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:13 pm

Hello all. I'm a Texas student who has been admitted to some schools already (for Fall2018) but due to some recent events in my family I've been considering applying to some schools in California. The only school in CA I applied to in my first round of applications was Loyola but I have yet to hear back from them. So the question I have is is it worth it to apply to the lower ranked schools (the ones I think would for sure take me) this late in the process?

My LSAT is 157. UGPA is 3.2 but with an addendum explaining why my first attempt at college was a disaster and that the last four years GPA is 3.8. My main career goal out of law school is to work for a DAs office but I'm also interested in international law. If I were to apply to schools like California Western or Chapman or McGeorge and still receive a good scholarship would those schools be worth the time? Would any scholarship short of full tuition be worth it? I have visited the state many times for vacations and know I would love to live there but I also know that those schools are not ranked favorably, that the California bar is notoriously difficult and these schools don't have great employment rates. So any insight would be appreciated.

CALaw717

New

Re: California low tier schools

Post by CALaw717 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:59 am

TGBU wrote:Hello all. I'm a Texas student who has been admitted to some schools already (for Fall2018) but due to some recent events in my family I've been considering applying to some schools in California. The only school in CA I applied to in my first round of applications was Loyola but I have yet to hear back from them. So the question I have is is it worth it to apply to the lower ranked schools (the ones I think would for sure take me) this late in the process?