Alaskan Picking a School Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
SnowTennis

New

Alaskan Picking a School

Post by SnowTennis » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:04 pm

This is my first time posting on TLS. I'm not a traditional poster, in that I'm not looking to go to a t14 school. I've worked in the corporate world and I know big law isn't for me. I'm looking for a decent regional school, in an area I wouldn't mind living for the rest of my life. I love Alaska, and I have an opportunity to return to my father's law firm there upon graduation, but I'd like to allow myself an opportunity to establish my own in a new community before I try and fall back on my father's reputation.

I wasn't set on the region I wanted to work upon applying so I applied to a variety of areas. I'm incredibly partial to three schools that I believe would offer the best choice. That being said, I'm having a hard time picking between the three. Additionally, I'm worried I may be excluding a decent option out of ignorance to the area. Do any current students/grads have any feedback on the areas and the opportunities of these schools?

Interested

Loyola - New Orleans
70% Scholarship - 2.5 GPA Stipulation
Note: My fathers alma mater and most of my extended family lives here

University of Montana
50% Scholarship - 2.7 GPA Stipulation

St. Thomas University - Minneapolis
50% Scholarship - Unconditional Scholarship

Unsure
University of Arkansas - Little Rock
90% Scholarship - Top 60% of Class

Creighton University (Omaha, Nebraska)
40% Scholarship - 2.0 GPA Requirement

Lost Interest
University of Akron (Ohio)
70% Scholarship - Unconditional Scholarship
Note: I hate the area

Washburn University (Topeka, KS)
30% Schoalrship - 2.8 GPA

University of Arkansas - Fayetteville
Residency for the first year then automatic residency the second

University of North Dakota
Full Tuition

University of Missouri - Kansas City
Residency Scholarship - 2.0 GPA Requirement

University of Memphis