UVA vs UT vs others for Texas Biglaw

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dallinpackard

UVA vs UT vs others for Texas Biglaw

Postby dallinpackard » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:31 pm

UVA cost of attendance: $120,000
UT estimated cost of attendance: $63,000
Duke COA is unknown, but likely similar to UVA.
throw in CCN at sticker

I have already received a Dean's scholarship at UVA ($120,000, cutting COA in half), and am assuming for the purposes of this post that I can use it to negotiate for a similar deal at Duke (admitted, financial aid pending) and a full tuition at UT (admittance pending, Texas resident), so this is still slightly hypothetical. For reference my stats are 3.6 172.

My goal is to work in Texas as a patent prosecutor, hopefully at biglaw. I have an EE degree, so I know I am already a decent looking applicant based off of my undergrad. I know that UT reigns in Texas, but I also know that I would need to be around the top third of my class in order to secure a biglaw position. Would the extra cost of UVA be worth it? Their clerkship rates are also highly appealing. I threw in CCN because I'll likely have the option of at least one of them at sticker, and Duke because it is similar to UVA in Texas placement and cost.

chargers21

Re: UVA vs UT vs others for Texas Biglaw

Postby chargers21 » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:20 am

This probably depends on how you rank certain jobs. Is it texas BL > BL > Texas jobs, or tx BL > other TX jobs > other BL? Personally, I would go to UVA/Duke especially if you have strong Texas ties

okaygo

Postby okaygo » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:25 am

How debt adverse are you? I would say your chances of TX big law are equivalent at UVA and UT. Personally, I would go to UVA because it's a great school and an amazing experience, but I am biased.

dallinpackard

Postby dallinpackard » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:37 am