IU Maurer vs. Ohio State Moritz vs. University of Cincinnati Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
BoilerByBirth

New

IU Maurer vs. Ohio State Moritz vs. University of Cincinnati

Post by BoilerByBirth » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:52 am

Hey guys, so here's my situation:

I'm headed into my last semester of studying biomedical engineering at Purdue University and will be graduating in December. Collectively, through internships and co-ops I have about 18 months of industry work experience in engineering roles at two pharmaceutical companies. I have a 3.56 GPA and my practice LSAT scores have been between 160-165 so far (I'm taking it in September). I'm a resident of Indiana, but my fiancé lives in Cincinnati and has a very good job there that he's locked into for at least the next two years. I'm trying to decide between IU Bloomington, Ohio State and UCinci. IU and OSU are both tier 1 schools and pretty interchangeable in terms of rankings, whereas UC is solidly tier 2, but is in my ideal location for school as well as likely my target location for landing a job post law school.

How important is it to go to a tier 1 school? Would I be better off going to a less highly ranked school but aiming to stay at or near the top of my class? Or is caliber of your peers and school important for getting a solid, valuable law education? I've heard it's easier to find jobs in cinci as a UC graduate than an OSU grad anyway - is there truth in this?

Disclaimer: despite my STEM background I don't want to do patent law. I'm more interested in criminal law or public interest law. Thoughts, advice, and discussion are much appreciated! :)

UVA2B

Gold

Re: IU Maurer vs. Ohio State Moritz vs. University of Cincinnati

Post by UVA2B » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:05 am

Where do you want to practice following graduation? And when you say criminal law, do you mean local ADA or PD type of criminal law, or more federal/AUSA? And what kind of public interest law do you mean?