BU vs UCI Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Deserving Porcupine

New

BU vs UCI

Post by Deserving Porcupine » Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:53 am

Hello TLS hive mind,

My short list for law school looks like it will come down to being basically between BU and UCI. At this point, I have about $75k from BU and about $85k from UCI. I think that COA will be comparable between the two, though UCI will probably end up being about $25k cheaper because they haven't really raised tuition, and there is the possibility of in state tuition 2l and 3l years. BU thinks they are clever in trying to skew my calculation with an unreasonably low COL ($18K-ish), but my actual costs will probably be closer to UCIs $28k COL no matter where I end up.
I was also accepted at UW, but their scholarship offer is a bit over half of what the other schools are giving me, so I've basically excluded that option. I'm financing this with loans.

I'm a non-traditional student with a family, so I won't really be able to split rent, nor will I be able to retake/reapply. My stats are 3.25/166, so I'm a splitter at any of the lower T-20s to 30s. I have a STEM grad degree, and plan on going into biotech patent law. Boston is obviously huge for this, but I've heard San Diego has a lot of IP going on, and though UCI doesn't place that strongly up north there is also the bay area. I really don't have ties to either Cali or Boston, and while I would be OK with either, my family would probably adapt better to socal.