Updated: NU (75K) vs Mich (60K)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

NU vs UMICH

NU (75K)
80%
Michigan (60K)
20%

Total votes: 30

eastring

New

Updated: NU (75K) vs Mich (60K)

Postby eastring » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi TLSers,

As you can tell by the meager amount of scholly money, I don't have that many great options. I'm an international student looking to do biglaw in NYC as I heard that it is hard for international students to find a biglaw job in Chicago (although I'm open to any market). I visited UMich for their ASW and loved it. Unfortunately, I did not have the luxury of visiting NU for their ASW so I cannot speak much of their school. I was hoping that Michigan will increase their offer with my negotiation but they did not. I'm wondering if 15K difference is enough to convince me to choose NU considering Chicago's high COL and my preference for NYC market and school. Please help!

Update: Michigan increased their offer from 45K to 60K lol
Last edited by eastring on Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ponderingmeerkat

Gold

Re: NU (75K) vs Mich (45K)

Postby ponderingmeerkat » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:42 pm

The credited answer is you should not attend either of these schools at these price points.