UCLA vs. Vanderbilt

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Which door should I choose?

Door 1: Vanderbilt
12%
Door 2: UCLA
80%
Door 3: Retake/Don't go to law school
8%
Door 4: Mid West school is best
No votes

Total votes: 51

Gitaroo_Dude

Silver

UCLA vs. Vanderbilt

Postby Gitaroo_Dude » Mon Apr 10, 2017 3:21 pm

Hey all,

Finished up the last of my school visits and am ready to make a final decision. I have a pretty good idea of which school I'll choose, but still wanted to get TLS' feedback on my options and to see what your thoughts are.

Some background before I list my schools and COA. My numbers are 168/3.4, used up all three retakes. I've been working since 2011, and have amassed a decent savings war chest during that time. My plan is to set aside $10k-$15k as a "rainy day fund" of sorts, then use the rest of my savings on tuition and COL. I will therefore be posting each school's "COA" as the total amount of loans I'll have to repay upon graduation. I'm open to being persuaded on a different use of my savings though; I just figure depleting them to avoid extra loans/interest as a 1L and 2L would be best in the long run.

Schools I'm considering and the loans I'll have to repay:

UCLA: $108,592 (they're also offering a $4k cash grant for summer work too, so it'll actually be a little less than $108k)
Vandy: $109,257

Also, while I'm not considering these as strongly, I can also choose from the following:

Notre Dame: $83,468
WashU: $46,542