GW ($$) vs. American/Temple/Northeastern/Indiana (full-ride)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
hufsinterpreter

New

GW ($$) vs. American/Temple/Northeastern/Indiana (full-ride)

Postby hufsinterpreter » Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:30 am

Options:
1. Waiting on BU and BC (164/3.70)
2. 75k scholarship at GW
3. Full-ride at American/Temple/Northeastern/Indiana
4. Retake and apply next cycle

My top choices are BU/BC, and would happily attend with a >75k scholarship. If not, my next choice is GW with a higher scholarship or Northeastern. GW’s deposit is April 15, and I’m not sure if I will hear back from BU/BC by then.

Should I should start negotiating? Do I have any leverage?

On retake and next cycle:
- I studied as much as I could with a full-time job and was PTing around 164-167, so I’m not quite positive that I could break 170.
- I’m over 30, so I’d like to go to law school this fall than later.
- My employment contract ends at the end of this year. If I were to apply next cycle, it will be difficult to find a job for 6-7 months in a country with little flexibility.

Financing: I went to college on a full-ride, so I don’t have outstanding loans and can finance three years of COL with savings. My family is willing to cover tuition, but I don’t want to receive more than 100k because an amount beyond that may become a financial burden.

Geographic preference: I’m an international student from Asia with strong ties to DC/NY/Boston. I have no doubt I can survive or even enjoy Bloomington and work in the Midwest, but I want to be in DC/Boston because of personal relationships.

Career goals: I will most likely have to go for Biglaw to work in the States. I know that will be highly unlikely by attending the schools that gave me full-rides, but I’m willing to take the chance with GW/BU/BC. I am also open to practicing overseas.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance!

cavalier1138

Gold

Re: GW ($$) vs. American/Temple/Northeastern/Indiana (full-ride)