WUSTL (full ride) vs GTOWN ($$)

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dala77

New

WUSTL (full ride) vs GTOWN ($$)

Postby dala77 » Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:50 pm

WUSTL (full ride) vs GTOWN (105K)

I'm an international student and I aim to find a big law position after graduation in the US or in Hong Kong. I'm nearly making up my mind of going to Gtown. But I know the big law placement rate of Gtown is not optimistic. If I go to WUSTL, although I probably will not get a big law position after graduation, I don't have to be in debt and can find some other jobs in Hong Kong or China. On the other hand, Gtown is more prestigious in HK and China. I would like to ask for some advice. Thanks!!

UVA2B

Gold

Re: WUSTL (full ride) vs GTOWN ($$)

Postby UVA2B » Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:53 pm

How are you funding the difference in COA?

dala77

New

Postby dala77 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:49 pm

UVA2B wrote:How are you funding the difference in COA?

I myself have some savings and my parents are willing to help me. I feel quite uncomfortable to spend all my parents' savings to fund this risky "investment". I just have to evaluate whether Gtown is worth of it.

grades??

Silver

Postby grades?? » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:52 pm

both are t20 schools that place well in their regions

UVA2B

Gold

Postby UVA2B » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:00 pm

The placement power between the two schools is supposedly closer than you'd think (rumors swirling about WUSTL BL+Fed. Clerkship being as high as 46% for the most recent class, which is a big leap and could place GULC in a different tier if they didn't have a substantially similar jump because the market is just improving for all schools. I'm skeptical on all of this so far, but you never know).