A very different perspective on choosing a school Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dageezer

New

A very different perspective on choosing a school

Post by dageezer » Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:52 pm

By way of introduction, inasmuch as this is my first post, I am a tenured Professor at a state university with 30 years on the faculty of different universities. I am on this forum because my son is an applicant in this cycle and we have found this site to be a rich source of information. So this post is my attempt at a little "paying it back."

While I have no Direct Law school experience, I have watched many graduate students (pursuing both professional and academic graduate degrees) variously succeed and fail over the years and have developed a viewpoint that I am yet to see voiced in the threads on choosing a law school. Over the years my advice to prospective graduate students has morphed into a simple concept:

Go to the best school you can get into, in the worst place you can stand to live.

Simply stated, do not go to graduate/professional school in a place replete with distractions. You want to keep you head down and focus on the task at hand. If you are a big time wind surfer, go to Ann Arbor. If you are a cross country skier, go to Duke. If you are a passionate golfer, do not choose a school where a left turn takes you to the law library, but a right turn takes you to a demanding Nicklaus-designed course with subsidized greens fees.

There is one big way in which my experience and this bit of advice are weakly generalizable to law school. LS is very much is on a fixed timetable, and my work with graduate students has typically been in programs where they had more control over the speed. I have seen students fail to finish, or take a very long time, simply because they were enjoying where they were living way too much. Less a concern with law school, but the core issue of distraction v. focus remains the same.