NYC Biglaw Schools

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Sploshy

NYC Biglaw Schools

Postby Sploshy » Mon Mar 13, 2017 12:41 pm

If I'm being honest my ambitions are probably way too high, but I can't hope but at least try to pursue "the dream". I am currently a junior in undergrad at a regional Texas school with little to no prestige or reputation in academia. My GPA at the time of applying will be around a 3.9. I have been taking timed LSAT tests and scoring in the 177 range, obviously I know that my score will probably dive when the real thing comes around. I'm planning for a 172/3.9 profile, but I am wondering how much my undergrad school comes into the mix.

I think its easier to figure out which schools to go to with the end in mind. I want to work at a Biglaw firm in NYC, and I've seen lots of mixed opinions about what schools are good for that type of outlook. Penn to me seems like I'd have a decent shot of getting in and the prospects for a NYC job are supposedly good. Is my assessment of this correct? Why do people on these forums value HYS so highly? I understand that those three schools are great, but there's only a small amount of students graduating from those schools each year. Also, I'm assuming those schools have students interested in a wide variety of jobs, so it's not like those schools fill up the majority of NYC BigLaw positions, is it?

I'm still figuring out what type of law I want to pursue, but I'm focused in on Corporate transactional law or General litigation. As far as the corporate law goes, I figure that having a close proximity to Wharton and possibly even joining the 3yr or 4yr mba/jd program would look very good on a resume and offer me some more insight into the corporate world.