Michigan v. Northwestern

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
XUMickeal

New

Michigan v. Northwestern

Postby XUMickeal » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:24 pm

Hi all!

With the receipt of my most recent ding, my circle was officially over 2hrs ago. I have narrowed down my choices to either Michigan or Northwestern. Though I received a pretty decent scholly from Michigan and have not heard from NW as to $, money is not really an issue since my family is pretty comfortable with financing my legal education. I am an international student so getting a H1B sponsorship is my priority at the moment.
Career Aspiration: working in big laws for a few years until financially comfortable to switch to human rights advocacy;
Target Market: Chicago/NY;
Preferred lifestyle: no preference between big city/small town. But I'm a member of the LGBT community so would like to study in a more inclusive environment.
Since there exists a strong likelihood that I will end up working in another jurisdiction, international reputation is also a major concern.
Thanks for any potential input!

BruiseWillis

Bronze

Re: Michigan v. Northwestern

Postby BruiseWillis » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:32 pm

I feel like if money is not a concern and your target is biglaw Chicago, NU seems like the right option here because it feeds direct into Chi (unless you just love Michigan, they are peer schools so it seems like this will come down to personal preference more than anything).

curry1

Silver

Postby curry1 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:34 pm

XUMickeal wrote:Hi all!

With the receipt of my most recent ding, my circle was officially over 2hrs ago. I have narrowed down my choices to either Michigan or Northwestern. Though I received a pretty decent scholly from Michigan and have not heard from NW as to $, money is not really an issue since my family is pretty comfortable with financing my legal education. I am an international student so getting a H1B sponsorship is my priority at the moment.