WUSTL UMN or GULC? Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
str8shot122

New

WUSTL UMN or GULC?

Post by str8shot122 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:49 pm

Georgetown is a bit misleading. I was placed on the special preffered waitlist. I'm told I have a good chance of getting in with no money come May if I unequivocally agree to GULC. UMN gave me a half scholarship. But I think I can negotiate. I visited UMN and really liked the town. WUSTL looks nice and there's the rankings difference. But I'm also not sure if I'll get scholarships there. I'm a married older student just getting out of military. I just want to go to the school that will set me up to have a semi comfortable life (I'm not attached to Biglaw). I go back and forth every hour whether I'm willing to go into significant debt. Military paid for undergrad so I don't have to worry about that. Wife is also an upwardly mobile professional who has a good job. Even though she'll have to leave her current job for all these options, I think she'll be able to get another one.

guynourmin

Gold

Re: WUSTL UMN or GULC?

Post by guynourmin » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:02 pm

GULC at sticker is a terrible idea, WUSTL at sticker is a worse one. Assuming your wife can carry all your living expenses, you're still going to be over 80k in debt from Minnesota, which isn't nothing.

oh, and http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/v ... 1&t=206299

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:08 pm

What is a "semi-comfortable" life for you?

str8shot122

New

Post by str8shot122 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:13 pm

guybourdin wrote:GULC at sticker is a terrible idea, WUSTL at sticker is a worse one. Assuming your wife can carry all your living expenses, you're still going to be over 80k in debt from Minnesota, which isn't nothing.

oh, and http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/v ... 1&t=206299
Can you explain?

str8shot122

New

Post by str8shot122 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:19 pm