LMU law vs UC Hastings law

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
kg4mvp

New

LMU law vs UC Hastings law

Postby kg4mvp » Sat Feb 04, 2017 4:54 am

I graduated with a 4.2 GPA and earned a BA in political science. My LSAT was okay, I got a 159, although I've scored as high as a 168 while PTing under test conditions. I was feeling as if I had a low chance at either school, but I got accepted to both. LMU is offering me 102k in scholarship money split evenly amongst the three years while UC Hastings is offering 60k split evenly amongst the three years. LMU's tuition is a bit more expensive, but because I'm from LA originally, I'd be staying at my parent's house and commuting to school. I also want to work in the LA area, so I figure LMU is a decent enough school to get me a job at a midsize law firm within the area. Staying at home would save me a lot of money on rent, especially considering San Fransisco's extremely expensive housing. Additionally, living at home would save me money on food (home cooked meals and a fridge that's always full). I'm not pursuing a legal career for the money. Not to say that I want to work a job that pays me 50k annually, but I definitely want to find a field that I'm passionate about, and pursue my career in that direction. At this point in time, raw as hell and knowing very little, I want to pursue sports law. I want to work with athletes. Whether that be for specific leagues, agencies that work with athletes, teams, or athlete unions like the NBPA. This can change. After all, I am a 0L and virtually know nothing.

Tuition - (LMU) $50, 050 a year full time vs (UCH) $48,638 full time

Scholarship - (LMU) 102k distributed over 3 years as long as I maintain a 2.8 GPA vs (UCH) 60k Provost Scholarship distributed over 3 years. It appears as if it has no minimum gpa requirement. Could be wrong though? I'll be paying the remaining tuition with loans. No money from my parents/savings.