Non-traditional student; question re Stetson & part time

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
beachlife

New

Non-traditional student; question re Stetson & part time

Postby beachlife » Wed Jan 04, 2017 3:14 pm

Hi all, I'm an atypical potential law student looking for some thoughts from peers. I'm about 20 years removed from my undergrad (BS in an engineering field), have had a successful career, currently am an exec & partial owner at a small (~150 staff) company. I'll be the first to admit that playing the role I play in a company my size and one with thousands of employees or more are entirely different jobs, and those in my role at larger companies typically have an MBA, but, are often also just "smart" on paper and really not that good at their jobs when it comes down to it. A JD carriers greater weight than most MBA's not bearing certain schools' names.

As my company grows, I've become increasingly reliant on our corporate counsel for things related to contracts, M&A, etc. and it triggered a little thought in the back of my head. I've always had an interest in law, particularly exactly what I currently require assistance with, contracts, mergers, acquisitions, and the negotiations related to them. It made me think perhaps getting a law degree would be a good long term move from the standpoint that I can play an expanded role with the knowledge I'd gain, and makes me more of an asset should our company ever get gobbled up by a big boy. Or, should something dire occur, I'm more marketable.