Does rank of Law School matter for trial law?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
eddielinsanity

New

Does rank of Law School matter for trial law?

Postby eddielinsanity » Wed Nov 16, 2016 11:56 pm

I've been interested in becoming a trial lawyer for a long time and I was wondering how the rank of the law school affects opportunities for trial law? I'm asking this because I am currently an undergrad student (in my second year) at my state's flagship school and I've heard that GPA's and LSAT scores matter far more than the prestige for undergraduate institution. I was wondering if transferring to another local state school (less prestigious to have a higher gpa and thus higher chance for a good law school (or more good scholarship money) would be worth it if I'm interested in trial law? Do you think sticking to a more challenging undergrad is worthwhile for better lsat scores or have hidden benefits that people often don't discuss? Or would it be better to transfer to get a higher GPA to get into a better law school/earn some scholarships for perhaps better trial law opportunities?

Nebby

Diamond

Re: Does rank of Law School matter for trial law?

Postby Nebby » Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:55 am

If you're at the run of a mill big state school, then you should be able to do as well in classes than if you went to another state school, imo. Yes, GPA and LSAT are the most important part of the law school admissions process.

Law school rank affects what post grad job opportunities are available to you. Higher ranked schools open more doors at private law firms, and the prestige gives a small boost if you decide to work for government or a nonprofit instead. Law is one of the few professions where your school matters even 20 years after graduating. (whether it should is another question but that's the reality)

cavalier1138

Gold

Postby cavalier1138 » Thu Nov 17, 2016 6:11 am

Everything Nebby said is spot on.