Future patent lawyer. Rutgers Newark vs ?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
circle.the.wagons

Bronze

Future patent lawyer. Rutgers Newark vs ?

Postby circle.the.wagons » Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:45 pm

Last edited by circle.the.wagons on Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

joeyc328

Bronze

Re: Future patent lawyer. Rutgers Newark vs ?

Postby joeyc328 » Mon Jul 18, 2016 2:55 pm

Option 1: would love to know why being an agent isn't an option. Many firms will pay for you to go to law school for free at night while working.

Option 2: Patent prosecution (assuming you want to do solely patent prosecution) might be the only area where you look at specialty rankings. So consider UNH, Cardozo, BU, and American U.

http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandr ... w-rankings

circle.the.wagons

Bronze

Postby circle.the.wagons » Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:01 pm

Frankly it's just hard to find a job as an agent, I looked after undergrad while simultaneously looking for engineering positions. Firms want experience, PhDs, and chemical/biomed/electrical backgrounds so I could be looking for a job while, and I'd like to start my law career sooner than later. And I know I'd want to go to ls eventually so the agent gig would just be a stepping stone anyway.

To answer your other question, I wouldn't limit my future to only prosecution.

GoGreen17

New

Postby GoGreen17 » Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:08 pm

Hopeful patent lawyer here as well

If you score around your target then there's no reason Fordham won't be an option. Everyone on here will tell you to study your ass off for the LSAT and score as high as possible and I definitely agree. If you kill your LSAT in September, schools like the ones you listed will be offering you hefty scholarships. Personally I would stay away from Rutgers and aim more for Fordham, it's definitely in reach for you. A low GPA (especially if its from a hard major) can easily be erased by a good LSAT.