Crazy to pick Loyola over Emory and UCI?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
violinguy27

Crazy to pick Loyola over Emory and UCI?

Postby violinguy27 » Sun Jul 03, 2016 1:30 am

Just that...am I crazy to pick Loyola over Emory and UC Irvine? I got basically equal scholarships at each school, all around 100k. I am also waitlisted at UCLA, which I would choose over the other schools. I currently live in LA and want to practice in the area. I am a fairly accomplished musician, was signed and toured and all that, and want to go into entertainment law, specifically dealing with music. Is it dumb to take location and network over such a big difference in ranking? Irvine was tempting but they just don't have the strong LA network that Loyola does since they are so new. Emory has a transactional certificate which is also interesting, but also don't place in CA very well. Any advice/support for my decision is appreciated!

BigZuck

Re: Crazy to pick Loyola over Emory and UCI?

Postby BigZuck » Sun Jul 03, 2016 2:16 am

violinguy27 wrote:Just that...am I crazy to pick Loyola over Emory and UC Irvine? I got basically equal scholarships at each school, all around 100k. I am also waitlisted at UCLA, which I would choose over the other schools. I currently live in LA and want to practice in the area. I am a fairly accomplished musician, was signed and toured and all that, and want to go into entertainment law, specifically dealing with music. Is it dumb to take location and network over such a big difference in ranking? Irvine was tempting but they just don't have the strong LA network that Loyola does since they are so new. Emory has a transactional certificate which is also interesting, but also don't place in CA very well. Any advice/support for my decision is appreciated!

How much debt will you be in at each? Include tuition, room and board, accumulated interest, loan origination fees, tuition increases, summer cost of living, etc. Everything.