Help! GMU vs. Syracuse

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Where Should I Go?

GMU
65%
Syracuse
12%
Neither
24%

Total votes: 17

Matthew236

New

Help! GMU vs. Syracuse

Postby Matthew236 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:23 am

Ok, long time lurker here, need your help friends; I have two options:

1. GMU (100% first year, 80% next two years, no stips) (Roughly 16k tuition debt after 3 years)
2. Syracuse (50% all 3 years, no stips) (Roughly 60k tuition debt after 3 years, but waiting for counter-offer right now)

About Me:

-I am an Army officer headed back to the JAG Corps after grad.
-Thus, rankings and job prospects really don't mean anything to me. I already have a job. When I leave, I know my mil experience will be more important to potential employers than where I went to school... right?
-I'm looking for a solid 3 year experience, I don't want to compete hard core since I know what I am doing.
-COL also not that important, military is paying it.
-I would probably like to practice in DC after my time in the military, but I won't rule out NYC if the right job came around.
-Not from either place, I call CA home.
-Really interested in being on trial ad teams, veterans clinics, etc.

-Already deposited to Syracuse, GMU was a waitlist offer I got this week. I originally chose SU because I liked their focus on Nat'l Sec Law, joint degree (JD and MPA) and sports scene (like I said, I have a job, would rather enjoy the next 3 years).
-Need to decide by 7/1/16

Help! What should I do?

(Also please don't say neither- retake. It's not an option for me, I have to go this fall or not at all)

cavalier1138

Gold

Re: Help! GMU vs. Syracuse

Postby cavalier1138 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:44 am

Do you know what sort of practice you're interested in post-JAG?

(Also, I know nothing about JAG, but I was under the impression that job offers weren't extended before school. Is that not always the case?)

Matthew236

New

Postby Matthew236 » Fri Jun 24, 2016 11:49 am