Deleted Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
confusedinill

New

Deleted

Post by confusedinill » Thu May 12, 2016 5:34 pm

Deleted
Last edited by confusedinill on Thu May 12, 2016 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mornincounselor

Silver

Re: University of Chicago or John Marshall Law?

Post by mornincounselor » Thu May 12, 2016 5:39 pm

C'mon man. This smells very trolly.

You're telling us the only schools you are considering are UChicago and John Marshall? You should have a fantastic offer from Northwestern, full rides from WUSTL, etc.

GFox345

Bronze

Re: University of Chicago or John Marshall Law?

Post by GFox345 » Thu May 12, 2016 5:48 pm

confusedinill wrote:I am currently 27 years of age, and I work with my dad at his construction business in Chicago. His business is not booming, but he does decent ($150,000). With that said, I started working for my dad after I graduated college. I made about $100,000 the last 5 years but I also worked about 65 hours per week every damn week. I know that this career is not what I want to spend my life doing. The freezing cold winters, the back breaking work, the fear of getting hurt, etc.

I recently applied to 2 law schools after spending several years thinking about it. University of Chicago and John Marshall Law School. Both schools I have been accepted to. With UoC, I would be going full time with no scholarship. But, I would be able to graduate with 0 debt because the money I saved through working 5 years and living home with dad. Savings = drained. With JMLS, I would be going part-time and (due to scholarships and small help from step-mom) I would be going for free. I also live like 2 blocks away. Keep in mind, I wouldn't have to touch the huge chunk I saved with JMLS. I would have upwards of like $375,000 saved up upon graduation since I would keep working at my dad's business. The old man also agreed to work with my schedule so I can attend night classes.