Public Interest Megathread for T14s (employment data, resources, testimonials) Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Nebby

Diamond

Public Interest Megathread for T14s (employment data, resources, testimonials)

Post by Nebby » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:54 pm

As a practicing-PI attorney, I can say with confidence that this YLS fact-sheet is an excellent primer for PI interested law students: https://www.law.yale.edu/student-life/c ... st-careers

Class of 2016 Public Interest/Government Employment stats
These percentages are based on the number of full-time (long-term) PI-employed graduates divided by the total graduates. The total number of PI-employed graduates are in parenthesis. For these purposes, “PI” includes what the ABA required disclosure defines as “Public Interest” and “Government.” Thus, if a school has 3 Public Interest and 5 Government grads, then PI-employed grads would equal 8.

Duke: 6.7% (15)

Class of 2015 Public Interest/Government Employment stats

UC Berkeley: 19.8% (55)
Georgetown: 19.6% (133)
NYU: 18.8% (91)
Harvard: 13.6% (80)
Yale: 13.5% (27)
UMich: 12.7% (45)
UVA: 12% (44)
Columbia: 11.6% (48)
Cornell: 11% (21)
Stanford: 9.2% (18)
Penn: 8.5% (21)
NU: 6.6% (19)
Chicago: 6.1% (12)
Duke: 5.3% (11)

Trends over the last 3 years:

Trends over the last 6 years:

Skadden Fellows since 2010:
To see what organizations fellows were placed in, search the Skadden Fellows directory.

Equal Justice Works (EJW) Fellows since 2009:
To see what organizations fellows were placed in, search the EJW Fellows directory.

For judging a school's PI culture, I'd look more at the total number of graduates from each school rather than the percentage alone, because PI is self-selecting whereas biglaw is the default (at the top schools). For instance, Michigan has a higher percentage than CLS, but total number wise they're roughly the same.