UCLA($) vs NYU Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
smallfry

New

UCLA($) vs NYU

Post by smallfry » Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:54 pm

Hello!

I'm on the fence about choosing schools (UCLA vs NYU). I'm a California native, who has been living in NY for the past 5.5 years and I still love it here. I have been working in advertising for several years, but Bryan Stevenson's book "Just Mercy" and some volunteer work I was doing for a legal aid organization has prompted me to apply to law school. I initially was thinking of working in criminal justice reform, but as of now, I think I'm open to different types of legal work in the public service sector.

UCLA: COA= probably around $80-$100K depending on housing my 2nd/3rd years (financed mostly through loans)
NYU: COA= probably around $240K (financed mostly through loans)
Some context: LSAT 170 (took it twice)/GPA: 3.65

Like I mentioned above I still love living in NYC, though I'm not completely closed to the idea of moving back home (mostly because of my family). NYU is a higher-ranked school and my hero Bryan Stevenson teaches there, which is a large part of why I want to attend. Also, I have heard (from current and former students) that the school focuses heavily on public interest, but the amount of debt is pretty terrifying to me.

Any advice?

Abraham Lincoln Uni.

Bronze

Re: UCLA($) vs NYU

Post by Abraham Lincoln Uni. » Thu Apr 07, 2016 3:02 pm

For students in your situation, it is best to evaluate the cost of attending the law school and whether there is a particular area of law you would like to go into. If there is, look to see if either school has job or internship opportunities in that area of law, such as the public service sector.