Columbia/Chicago/Duke/Cornell/Michigan Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Rh1no

New

Columbia/Chicago/Duke/Cornell/Michigan

Post by Rh1no » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:42 pm

Does anyone have any insight into this decision making process?

Columbia - 40k
Chicago - 60k
Duke - 135k
Cornell - 150k
Michigan - 120k

Considerations:
My parents are paying for rent/COL expenses
I'm an undergrad at Cornell and the thought of staying here for 3 more years is unappetizing
I want to eventually work in the Northeast
I visited Columbia and loved it, also should I consider contacting the financial aid office and trying to negotiate more money from Columbia?
want to work in private practice

Just wanted to know if anyone here has thoughts about these choices, thanks

mt2165

Silver

Re: Columbia/Chicago/Duke/Cornell/Michigan

Post by mt2165 » Tue Apr 05, 2016 7:52 pm

You're not going to want to hear this, and I know ithaca sucks (I'm here too), but Cornell is definitely the right move for your goals and COA's. But you should definitely try and negotiate.

existentialcrisis

Silver

Post by existentialcrisis » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:03 pm

mt2165 wrote:You're not going to want to hear this, and I know ithaca sucks (I'm here too), but Cornell is definitely the right move for your goals and COA's. But you should definitely try and negotiate.
I don't think Duke would necessarily be indefensible here. Geographic preference is worth at least a little bit, and i feel like I've read somewhere that Cornell has slightly more expensive tuition.

jbagelboy

Diamond

Post by jbagelboy » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:04 pm

CLS should match Chicago.

Seems like you come from some money if your folks have $70k to support you with. For people in your position, there's a little more flexibility. I think it comes down to Duke versus Columbia (if CLS increases to $60k+ aid). What will your total debt figures be and how comfortable are you with them? I would lean Duke.

existentialcrisis

Silver