Part-Time vs. Full Time Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Full Time Or Part Time?

Poll ended at Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:30 am

Full Time
50%
Part Time
50%

Total votes: 6

New

Part-Time vs. Full Time

Post by 01020304050607 » Sat Jul 04, 2015 8:30 am

TLSModBot

Diamond

Re: Part-Time vs. Full Time

Post by TLSModBot » Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:40 am

Give us some more detail on 'Why go into law.' You are currently in a job that pays better than the vast majority of what recent law grads make, and those jobs that pay more don't come with any guarantees that you'll be around long enough to see a significant income difference. Without more I'd recommend not going to law school. Getting into a firm will be hard and starting out on your own after law school is generally (but not 100% certainly) a disastrous proposition.

But let's say you're going to do law school anyway. As a part-time student myself, I generally don't recommend it. It takes longer than a regular law program (which already seems too long for most people), you might not get access to scholarship money, and you have to compete, even in the part time sections, with people who aren't working or are working very little.

In the abstract, going part time is OK I guess, especially if you can pay down the cost of going. Ultimately though, going full time on a scholarship is usually a better value proposition.

But seriously don't go to law school.

Revision: Don't go to law school. Just don't do it.
Last edited by TLSModBot on Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

PoopNpants

Silver

Post by PoopNpants » Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:53 am

Leaving a six figure job to go to Temple law might be one of the dumbest propositions I've seen ever on this website

Dr. Review

Gold

Post by Dr. Review » Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:57 am

PoopNpants wrote:Leaving a six figure job to go to Temple law might be one of the dumbest propositions I've seen ever on this website

callmekimba

New