PLEASE HELP!

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
APIII

PLEASE HELP!

Postby APIII » Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:29 pm

Hey everyone, I'm looking for a little help and insight from you ladies and gentlemen. I'm having a little difficulty deciding what I will be doing come August. Honestly, I was a slacker in undergrad and it shows on both my GPA and LSAT scores. My crappy credentials have put me in a tough spot and I'm having a hard time deciding what I'm going to do.

The two options I'm deciding between are starting law school at a lower ranked school than I want to and ultimately try to be at least in the top 15% of my class so I can transfer to a better school after my 1L or completing a Jusris Master's program as a precursor to my JD. The reasoning behind the second option would be so that I could take that year to study for my LSAT once more (hopefully third time is the charm) and hopefully getting good grades in a Masters program would show them my caliber of work is a lot higher now than it was in my undergrad career. Not only that, but I don't want to live at home with my parents anymore. At least enrolling in school would open opportunities to federal loans so I can move on my own as well. I've tried looking for jobs for months now (especially in the legal field) and I've fell short every time. Not only that, but taking another year off means I'm gonna have to start making student loan payments in September, I had them deferred for a year.

This is the bottom line:

Considering masters at Wake Forest and University of Georgia.
WF: Paying 16k for masters (24k scholly)
UGA: Paying 16k for masters (In-State tuition remission award)

Considering JD at University of Lousiville and University of Arkansas at Little Rock.
UL: 36k full price tuition
UALR: $0 due to a full scholarship for all 3 years (as long as I stay in the top 50% of my class)

My credentials and plans: