Uga vs ga state decision time sensitive Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
Nicolemetsch

New

Uga vs ga state decision time sensitive

Post by Nicolemetsch » Sun Jun 14, 2015 8:37 pm

So I got accepted into uga and ga state and I had originally thought I wanted to attend uga law Years ago. I got my undergrad degree from uga and I commuted to Athens from lawrenceville and I would do the same for law school for both uga and ga state law. I am about the same distance from both schools so commuting gas money is pretty equal (only worry would be extra travel time to ga state because of Atlanta traffic). I would live in larenceville no matter where I went so living expenses would be the same and I would think books would be about the same.
So both schools would end up costing about the same but I wasn't sure If the location of ga state in Atlanta would present me with more opportunities. GA state also has a brand new law building which would be cool. I'm not exactly sure what law I want to study, I probably want to work for a large firm but I may end up not doing that , who knows. I also didn't really feel like I belonged at uga so that's why I wanted to try a new school but who's to say I will feel better at ga state. I like the fact that the scholarship money at uga is given to me no matter If I do a clerkship or not.. ga state on the other hand will only waive my tuition my third year if I do the program and I'm not sure if I will want to do the position or not, I don't like the idea of having to commit to a year long program 3 Years in advance before I even know what I want to do. But then again the program may be great for me. But I do have the option to do it uga if I'd like.
UGA seems to make more sense but I keep hesitating and being drawn back to the idea of going to ga state for some reason. I don't really know many lawyers so any advice on this would be greatly appreciated and let me know if I left out any info. Thank you