Michigan or Penn?

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )

Michigan or Penn?

Michigan
55%
Penn
45%

Total votes: 29

grutterv

Michigan or Penn?

Postby grutterv » Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:35 pm

I'm new to TLS and figured I'd get last minute opinions before I decide Monday (that's when Michigan's second tuition deposit is due). I've narrowed down my choices to Michigan and Penn (though I'm semi-holding out for Columbia, where I am waitlisted). Both schools are offering me around $75,000. I'm a MI native and would prefer to work in state. I am open to any kind of legal work but will shoot for a federal clerkship first. My dream is PI but I'm not attached enough to feel comfortable with the debt/being on a loan for 10 years.

I've been set on Penn because of their superior employment data, but recently swayed to Mich because of its superior status in-state and in PI.
Last edited by grutterv on Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stego

Re: Michigan or Penn?

Postby stego » Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:45 pm

In order to receive the best feedback in this forum, please provide as much of the following information in your original post as possible:

-The schools you are considering
-The total Cost of Attendance (COA) of each. COA = cost of tuition + fees + books + cost of living (COL) + accumulated interest - scholarships. Here is a helpful calculator.
-How you will be financing your COA, i.e. loans, family, or savings
-Where you are from and where you want to work, and other places where you have significant ties (if any)
-Your general career goals
-Your LSAT/GPA numbers
-How many times you have taken the LSAT

UpandDown97

Postby UpandDown97 » Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:51 pm