GW vs BU Forum

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
citylawschool

New

GW vs BU

Post by citylawschool » Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:41 pm

Hi everyone,

I graduated from Johns Hopkins University with a degree in Public Health Studies, and have decided to go to law school because I am very interested in health law. After graduating from Hopkins I worked for Johns Hopkins Medicine, and have decided that I would like to one day work as General Counsel in a large health system, although some people say you need to start out in a firm first (I'm not sure how much this will apply given my work experience).

I was planning on attending GW, but only received a Merit Scholarship of $5,000 per year.

I had originally applied to BU Early Decision hoping to get the full scholarship but unfortunately I was waitlisted. I was just admitted to BU, and received a Merit Scholarship of $18,000 per year.

I would be taking out loans to pay for the difference, and the cost of living in the cities are pretty equivalent so that is not really a factor here. I believe GW tuition is also about $5,000 more than BU.

GW is currently ranked 22 but is not ranked for health law, and BU is 26 but ranked 5 for health law. Both schools have health law programs, but GW's is through the School of Public Health, so I would probably have to take courses over the summer to complete the concentration in health law. BU has The American Journal of Law and Medicine, an externship program, and faculty devoted to health law.

As for location, I really wanted a city school, so I am getting that with both, and while GW does offer many opportunities with health policy as the nation's capital, I not really interested in federal agency work (I am more interested in how federal policies impact health systems and other companies). I am hoping to end up in New York when I graduate.

Should I go to GW or BU?? Thanks for all of your help in advanced!!

usn26

Silver

Re: GW vs BU