Chicago vs. Northwestern, Both $$$

(Rankings, Profiles, Tuition, Student Life, . . . )
dot matrix

Chicago vs. Northwestern, Both $$$

Postby dot matrix » Fri May 29, 2015 3:02 pm

Hi, first time poster. I got accepted off the wait list at Chicago and have until 4:00 EST today to take their offer. I'm currently deposited at Northwestern.

Negotiated Scholarships: Chicago - $135,000, Northwestern - $165,000

Background: I have no practical experience with the Chicago, other than visiting the campus and not really loving it, or the area. I went to Northwestern's ASW and had a great experience, but it was the only T14 ASW I went to, and I can't tell if I just loved it cause that T14 sheen. Based on experience and reputation of student body alone, I feel like Northwestern is a better fit for me (27 yo, work experience, business-oriented). But outside input is telling me opportunities would be greater after law school going to Chicago.

Career Goals: Tech start-up general counsel. I want transactional experience in law school, and working with entrepreneurs is high priority.

Questions: Is there any world where it makes sense to go to Northwestern instead of Chicago with the current scholarship packages? Are the negative rumors true about Chicago?

Thanks for your help!

Auxilio

Re: Chicago vs. Northwestern, Both $$$

Postby Auxilio » Fri May 29, 2015 3:10 pm

I think Chicago is probably the better choice here, but you are not insane for consider Northwestern.

My bigger question is did you really get 135,000 scholarship off the waitlist at Chicago?

suppy183

Postby suppy183 » Fri May 29, 2015 3:26 pm

I think the placement difference is large enough that an extra $30k in tuition is worth it for Chicago. I'm sure NU would be a better fit, but that's pretty secondary.

LadyProspero

Postby LadyProspero » Fri May 29, 2015 3:28 pm

Auxilio wrote:My bigger question is did you really get 135,000 scholarship off the waitlist at Chicago?

POTUSorSCOTUS